If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Small Tortoiseshell ( Aglais urticae )

More grass cutting.  With the weather due to break it seemed sensible to get the grass at the Lodge "knocked back".  Having taken my blip at the Lodge yesterday I thought I had better try elsewhere.

Clickychick and I were sitting in the afternoon sun enjoying the garden and talking about how dead-heading the small buddleia had brought a second flush of flowers.  She pointed out the butterflies visiting, so I took shots.

"Tortis" as we tend to call them are properly called Small Tortoiseshell Butterflies.  The Large Tortoiseshell being believed extinct in the UK.  As the scientific name would suggest Nettles are important to the species being the food plant of the caterpillar. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.