Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Sunshine on oak

As Xena has agility on a Monday morning, Gavin and I went for an early morning run with her as there is no time for a walk before her agility class. She loves the run, and as we are running in the woods she is off the lead and runs at her own pace, so it is not that different from her usual walk, and we struggle to keep up with her!

Agility class is fun but I am soon realising that it is all about training the handler as much as the dog. Whereas obedience classes are about firm, controlled commands, spoken in an authoritative manner, agility seems to be about exciting the dog and using a very loud and excited voice to get the dog super excited about the activity. As I don't naturally talk like that I have to learn to adopt an 'agility voice' . She did everything fine today, even the tunnel which last week was a bit scary for her as she was hesitant to go through it (easier for smaller dogs), it was no problem today.

Then home for coffee and out again to go grocery shopping. I had one more thing to buy for Gavin's birthday which is at the end of the week but of course I only shop online so that was done while enjoying my morning coffee. 

Another beautiful sunny and warm day today, and everything is still so green. Oak trees are always the last trees to turn colour and to lose their leaves.

I must make supper early as I have another camera club zoom meeting tonight - I find it is so easy to forget these zoom meetings, somehow their times and dates don't stick in my brain as real meetings do so I have to set alarms on my phone to remind me! During lockdown when the days blurred into each other this was especially true. I booked a few online talks through RPS or other websites, and then forgot to dial in to them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.