Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Teasels and cobwebs

I spotted these teasels on my walk this morning, and liked the back lighting on them - together with cobwebs they are a typical autumnal sight. I have also added an extra of those flying ears!

Boris' new changes to the Coronavirus rules announced today are not as onerous as I thought they would be, and it is about time they made it mandatory for waiters and retail staff to wear masks, as up till now it has been a bit ad hoc as to whether they wear them or not and yet we have to wear them when shopping. We are going out to supper for Gavin's birthday on Friday and for a moment I wondered if we would be affected by the 10pm curfew, but we have an early booking and when we checked with the restaurant today they said we would be finished by 9pm which suits me just fine as I don't like late nights. Gavin works three days a week in the office, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays (so he is known as a TWAT !) but that may change now that they want more people to work from home again.

Last night I enjoyed the camera club talk from Paul Mitchell about The Seeing Eye, and tonight I have our school camera group meeting on zoom so after that I will be totally zoomed out. I don't know how people zoom all day and every day for work. 

I have booked my flu jab at Boots and even had to pay for it in advance and then yesterday I read in the news yesterday that Boots have now suspended flu jabs for the under 65's as nationally the UK doesn't have enough stock. I have not had an email or any notification cancelling my appointment so I don't know whether I will be getting it or not, and whether they will be refunding me or not. Friends went to their appointment at Lloyds this week only to be turned away at the door and told it was for over 65's only. I think it is a ridiculous situation, not only is the whole Coronavirus testing, tracing and everything connected to it an utter shambles, but now they cannot even order sufficient flu vaccines. Only a few weeks ago the government announced that the flu vaccine was being offered to people from age 50 upwards for free - now you cannot even get a vaccine at all. The whole thing is a shocking - what is the point of getting the vaccine halfway through winter? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.