Out with the old & in with the new

A gorgeous vibrant red geranium snapped off as I was tidying up the hanging baskets outside Jorgiesmum's front door, but I hate throwing flowers away when they're not spent, could'nt find a small vase but found this ginger beer  bottle .. That'll do! The rotting apple was in my bag, no good for my purpose but I expect a blackbird would'nt mind having a peck at it, so that's gone over the hedge into the field,  the pile of old newspapers, well, I've been having a go at the GK crossword, the Sudoku I leave for Stan & Lucy to tackle if I can remember to place the paper in the bottom of their cages the right way up. Reuse, recycle, repurpose. My mantra, perfect for today's Mono Monday blip subject of Old & New set by GadgetKid
Jorgie & I completed an anti clockwise circuit this morning just for a change, the climb being more gradual. ;-)). A fabulous morning for a countryside bimble. I picked up the pieces of black polythene silage bale wrapper on the lane & tied them neatly on the field gates where hopefully the farmer will take them & dispose of them. I know it's inevitable that bits will find their way on the lanes, it just looks so horrid & unnatural. We disturbed a cat with a live bunny in it's mouth ... A bit quicker thinking & acting on my part & it may have dropped it, but it shot off away up the lane. Poor bunny! Coming down the bridle path is a tad dodgy, the ground so dry that the stones are loose,  so will return to a clockwise  route in future.
Watered some of the plants in the garden on our return, filling the pond with the hose. The forecast might bring rain later in the week, this sunshine has been glorious but the ground is in desperate need of a soaking. My veggies up on the plot would love it too, nothing quite as good as a nights steady rain to give everything a boost.
I met a friend in Newton Abbot this afternoon. We were going hazelnut foraging ... disastrous! Spindleberry, Geulder rose, Mountain ash loaded with vibrant fruits ... hazel & cob nuts .. nada!! Last year the trees were loaded & the ground covered with nuts. Never mind it was good to catch up, I had'nt seen Jan since before lockdown. It's her 70th birthday this Friday, her daughter has organised a surprise birthday lunch at a bistro in Totnes which Mum & I have been invited to ..  just five of us.
I rang Mum, "There are 4 lights lit on the router now, did they contact you?" "No, not heard anything, no text message, no email" .. so tomorrow morning I shall go down & set up her wifi. Then attempt to get the bill adjusted for the 2 weeks without a connection. More frustrating chasing up no doubt.

Still really warm when I returned so waited for it to cool down a bit before Jorgie & I had our afternoon walk.

Off to bed now to start a new book I found on Jan's book shelf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.