Kipsie

By Kipsie

Mary Maguire artist. She also writes books....

Millie and I walked a little earlier this morning, she was in a very sociable mood wanting to say hello to all the dogs we encountered, and this morning there were all sorts ... 2 very smart Old English Sheepdogs, working Cockers, Springers, Golden Retrievers, golden & black Labradors, plus a couple of posh crosses ... We walked up through Manscombe woods, along the top, then did a loop back into Cockington Country park.

Drove over to Josie in Paignton, then off to Buckfastleigh to visit some more artists studios. First studio was really quirky, tucked away in a little back alley, then up some rickety stairs into a beautiful light filled studio. The workplace of Mary Maguire, pictured above. Amazingly quirky, intricate wirework adorned with feathers, beads and many other treasures. She was chatting with someone when we arrived so Jos and I were browsing through some books displayed on a table. One of the books Jos spotted was called Wirework. What a coincidence, It was a book that I bought for our MOT away days activity evening, back in the Spring when we stayed in Looe. Mary asked "Are you looking through my books"  ... What I did'nt realise when she asked was that they were HER books, books she'd written. SILLY me!! There was a slight delay before I realised what she had meant .. DUH!!! So we had a laugh about that. She was so interesting to talk to. She had spent some time in Africa designing for Oxfam Trading many years ago when she was studying.  I mentioned my collection of bottle tops that I brought back from Turkey earlier in the year .. She'd lived & worked in Turkey 5 years ago as a masseuse in a yoga retreat.  She's come back into art & creating after 28 years of being away from it raising her family. She uses quite a few recognisable  items but in a very clever way. Check out her work if you're interested on Instagram @marymaguiredevon. I was looking at some of the items on her work bench,spotting a piece of pleated metal. Aha!!! Now that was really of interest to me .. so now I'm on a mission to find a gadget to attempt another project ... One of many .. This is one that I did some drawings for after finding Acetabularia washed up on the beach when I was back in Thailand. A very worthwhile visit. I also put my name down for some course she might do if there is enough interest. That hours car parking ticket  went very quickly. If you borrow any of her books from the library she get's writers rights. I think 40pence each time. Interesting fact. I'd never thought about that.
We had 5 minutes to nip into the arty/crafty shop back on the street, then i spotted some beads in the window of the Brainwave charity shop .. a pound. Another necklace hanging up inside, also came home with me. The Pro Brexiteers were in force on Fore street .. "Would today be a good day to discuss politics?" Well I already had my answer ready but Jos got in first. Off to our next artist studio via Buckfast Abbey, a swift pit stop.. then Nigel Moores .. Abstract artist ...  Nice bloke, very interesting to talk to, loads of work in his studio & throughout his home which we were invited to view. There were at least 6 pieces that I could have easily brought home with me. Unfortunately we ran out of time as I needed to get back to Millie. Tomorrow is the last day of the Devon Open Studios 2019. I wish I'd got to visit more of the artists.
Back to Millie, we went for our afternoon walk down to the park. I spotted some lovely juicy blackberries, so did Millie, she was nibbling at them on the hedgerow. Did'nt notice the big black clouds ... a quick shower, hopefully, we took cover under a lime tree in the park, there against the base of the trunk was a note & a children's book, 'On The Go! Just Like Me!' in a Tesco's ziplock poly bag. Congratulations! You are the lucky finder of this book. Please read me then re-hide me for someone else to enjoy reading. ......... FB Torbay Hidden Books have a page. I think this was a spin off from the Hidden Rocks pages that seem to be very wide spread. The books are a great idea for kids :) The rain stopped and we headed back. Millie's dinner time,  The Chase, a cider, & hopefully 2 more dinglie danglies made with the beads found today.

Made dinner .. Spiced sweetcorn, lentil, & butternut squash soup. Overdid the cayenne pepper slightly, nothing a good dollop of double cream could'nt rectify. Time for Strictly ................

Did I mention Yebba yesterday .. I'm blown away by her voice.



Thanks to admirer for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.