Kipsie

By Kipsie

Soggy Sunday Bimble

I woke to the sound of rain ... Lovely! The plants will enjoy it for sure, hopefully it will be enough to give everything a good soaking. There's obviously been a drop in the night. Coffee, a few pages of my current book, then time for breakfast. Fried tomatoes on toast ... scrummy! Unexpected telephone call from hubby at 8am, which I heard but missed answering. Rang back immediately, he's normally NOT out of bed at 8am. :( He had his flu jab yesterday, his arm is swollen, stingy & painful, keeping him awake most of the night. He was driving down today but I suggested driving home and making dinner there. "Take a Paracetemol, go back to bed , perhaps you'll sleep". 
Got all togged up for rain, waterproof trousers are too long so this morning it was time to take action and cut the bottoms off. We set off in steady rain, but it soon eased, the occasional burst for most of our walk around Cockington, it did stop while I was taking this photo with my phone thank goodness. I'm not sure what  this belongs to, it was in the same area as the straw chaffer that I posted in a previous DS blip. It's opposite the waterwheel so not sure. It's been here a while that's for sure. Not too many people out walking this morning.
Back home, I prepped the veg for lunch, packed it in the car along with some of the dry provisions I had'nt sued. I'm headed home tomorrow evening so won't be making any more dinners here. Popped into Asda on the way, I thought it might be quiet as it lunchtim but no such luck, although I have to say there are always plenty of check outs open. I picked up 3 packs of viola plants for £5 for mum, a couple of bags of mixed dried fruit at £1 per bag, great for boiled fruit cake :), plus 3 jars of coffee. Currently priced at £4.50 for 300grm. Got to the car, I'd forgotten the paper. Nipped back in.
Back in Chudders, hubby was still a bit under the weather. I got dinner cooking, hung a couple more bead dingly danglies, ran out of hooks. Hopefully they can be bought in a pack of 10 from the DIY in Chudleigh.
The secondhand Sony stereo system (£30) sounds far superior to the new system that we returned to Argos. A Gabrielle cd playing .. It will be good to go through my cassette tapes. I taped so much music back in the day, so its bound to bring be back loads of memories.  Checked the greenhouse, all the plants looked happy. Some deadheading to do when I get back, but I am really pleased with the way the garden has filled out, albeit not quite the ones I had planned. There will be some moves this Autumn. 

Roast duck, veggies & homemade sage, onion, apricot, & hazelnut stuffing for lunch today .. I prepared some food for my return tomorrow night, then it was time to get back to Millie. I took some of the gravy left from dinner as a little treat for her. She could smell the gravy as soon as I opened the door. She is a dabster ....  her nose is so attuned to food. We walked first, then I waited for her to chill a little when we returned before she had her dinner. The same dried food plus water everyday. She woofs it down but I'm sure she enjoyed today's just a little more, well I'd like to think so.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.