Eighteen!

Looking back over a long period of time is a little like an accordion. Taken as a whole it can seem to be alarmingly brief yet once you think about all of the events during that period, it stretches out to a more appropriate length. Actually, not *that* much like an accordion. 

Today is Dan's eighteenth and initially I found myself thinking, "Jeez! That's flown by" but then I think about all the things that have happened during that time and, well, yeah, it's been eighteen years. 

The Minx made this lovely collage to decorate Dan's birthday party, which started with drinks in the garden followed by a meal at the curry house. The photos perfectly sum up the many ages of Dan.

Prior to Dan's arrival, I'd had four daughters, so I was a little taken by surprise when it became evident that the little fella was looking to me as a role model. Suddenly, certain deficiencies to which I was happily reconciled -  my lack of DIY skills, for example - seemed like areas in which I was letting him down.

Happily, these failings were apparently compensated for by my willingness to join in long conversations about the Ben 10 universe and my exhaustive knowledge regarding the heroes of both Marvel and DC canons.

Certainly, he valued my musical knowledge during those early days of him thrashing enthusiastically along with Green Day in what might most charitably be described as an approximate fashion, although over the years he has left me far, far behind when it comes to both musical theory and ability. 

But what I love most about Dan is what a wonderful character he is: funny, smart, charming, laid back, and self-effacing. Always up for joining in with whatever's going on, even if it's just a walk 'round to the shops. He's always been a joy to be around and I feel privileged to have been his dad (not that I'm giving up on that role!). 

We had a wonderful evening's celebration. Dan's generosity of spirit enabled him to somehow be the centre of attention without making the evening all about him and that's typical of the man (which I guess is how I should refer to him now but he'll always be "the little fella" to me!)

****
-11.5 kgs
Reading: 'The Vanishing Half' by Brit Bennett

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.