Caught in a web

A wet day today, as forecast, so I've been catching up with indoor stuff, in particular trying to sort out and update the Oban Photographic Club website. Our webmaster recently decided to call it a day and I was volunteered for the job in addition to being Competition Secretary. I don't really mind - quite enjoy that sort of thing really. Our numbers are dropping and consequently so are our committee members. It's a work in progress, but here it is at http://www.obanpc.co.uk/

Earlier in the year I was looking for some plant or other online and found a nursery which listed quite a few species begonias. I offered him one of mine, Begonia hatacoa PGG 209, collected as seed in the Himalayas back in 1990, and he agreed to swap for a plant in the family Gesneriaceae, always a favourite of mine. My choice was Seemannia nematanthodes 'Evita', which is my Blip today - they've just begun to flower. He also offered me the pink-flowered Seemannia gymnostoma, which was good of him. This isn't quite at the flowering stage yet. They die down in the winter to small furry tubers, so sending them was easy. They are both natives of Bolivia where they grow up in the mountains.

Quote of the Day:

Charmian Hussey, ‘The Valley of Secrets’ - “There's nothing quite like the pleasure you get from plants and flowers."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.