My pet

A lovely day today - blue skies, fluffy white clouds and sunshine. I had to go down to the town this morning as the new exhaust fitted by KwikFit last week was blowing. I had half an hour to kill so walked over to the Railway Pier with my camera. I was leaning on one of the electric charging posts when a gull flew down and sat on the charging unit next to me. His beak was less than a foot away from my nose! He was obviously hoping for some food, as everytime I moved my hand he put his head down for another look! Passers-by found it rather amusing and one man asked 'Is he your pet?' I replied that he was and I brought him down to the harbour every morning! I took a few pictures, but unfortunately missed the one of him opening his beak wide and giving me a good look down his throat! We sat and chatted for at least 15 minutes when he said goodbye and flew off, ruffling my hair in the wind from his wings.

I went into Taynuilt after lunch to collect some onion sets from a friend to plant in my tunnel bed. They had a light frost there last night. It's only 23rd September!

Drove down Glen Lonan to the tunnels and replaced the seep hoses on my veggie bed. It was good to see water coming through. Gave the bed a weed and planted the onions and drove slowly down the glen, stopping several times to take pictures. I've put one on as an extra - Ben Cruachan with a topknot of cloud.

Called in at the Walled Garden as I was passing. Picked another two and half pounds of runner beans - we were only there three days ago!

Limerick of the Day:

A celebrity chef on TV,
Cooked a dinner for six for 10p.
With a bean and three chips,
Topped with raspberry pips,
Marinated in camomile tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.