Grey Heron

Today has been the last sunny day before the rain comes in tomorrow so I made the most of it with a walk from Ellesmere along the canal.

I spotted this grey heron fishing in the canal.  It caught a fish but unfortunately the photos of it swallowing it's catch weren't too good so I've blipped it watching the water.

As I walked along the canal I went amongst the trees near a stream and disturbed a kingfisher. It landed on a branch for a second before flying away.  The photo is my extra, it's not a good photo but I was thrilled to get one at all!

I also saw a flock of long-tailed tits flitting around the tree branches, they're always great to see too.

As I walked along the canal I saw a lady that I know well from the camera club and wildlife trust.  We hadn't seen each other since before lockdown so we had a good chat.  She only had her phone for photographing the heron which was a shame as she has all the gear!

When I got back to my car I spotted an old teaching colleague and friend.  We used to meet for coffee on a regular basis but hadn't seen each other since February so we had a good catch up too.

It was a great walk for birds and meeting friends!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.