WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Standing proud

Falling back on the bac à fleurs yet again! My eye is getting a bit jaded. And we are still living a quiet life most of the time. Yesterday evening I went to the first meeting of my French book group for this year. I skipped it last year, rightly as it turned out, since we weren't here for 9 months. But now, looking at the possibility that we may not be able to go to Spain this winter, I'm up for all the activities going to get me through the winter.

I felt oddly nervous being in a room with 12 other people, none of whom were in my normal bubble of village friends -- even though we were all well spaced out, a minimum of 2 metres apart, in a large room with open windows. The French convention is to take your mask off once you are seated, but to be honest I'm quite glad of this because it's harder to understand masked people speaking. 

We spent an hour talking about what books to read over the next three months, and then the distancing rules were dumped and we drank rosé and muscat, next to the open windows.

This morning we both went to the doctor to get the required medical certificates for our respective walking groups. I skipped that last year too, but I definitely need to get some exercise in order to shift the extra lockdown kilos. Limited group size, and car-sharing left to individual consciences.

Oh, and my copy of Hamnet finally arrived!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.