Another senior moment

Having blipped my grandmother's lovely handcrafted silver spoons for Mono Monday, I thought I would show a close-up of the meticulous engraving on two of the spoons.  The blip shows the largest of them; in Extra is the smallest spoon.

Today it was grocery pick-up day and I drove down and had my groceries put into the trunk of my car.  And then the car wouldn't start.  I kept trying, but the engine wouldn't turn over.  So I called AAA and arranged for a roadside service call.  As I settled in for a wait, I happened to glance down and saw the the gear lever was at Reverse. And of course the car won't start unless it's in Park.  A shift of the gears and I was on my way.  I had to call AAA again and cancel the service.  I felt so dumb.  Another Senior Moment.

This afternoon I set about trying to get myself a new Primary Care physician at one of the UW Neighborhood Clinics.  I wasn't able to make an online appointment with the provider who was the best fit so I had to call and wait 35 minutes to speak to a scheduler.  It turns out that the one I wanted won't take patients over 70 - even though her specialty is geriatrics!  I'm only 73, but that's too old for her.  So after a long period on the phone with the very helpful scheduler, I ended up with an appointment with a PA-C for late October.  But when I checked with my insurance online I discovered she's not listed as a covered provider, even though she's at a UW clinic.  Tomorrow I'm going to call the insurance company and see if I can straighten this out.  It never occurred to me that this would be do difficult.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.