carliewired

By carliewired

Grocery Shopping

An early morning
cruise through the grocery store
yields some surprises.

~ carliewired

I'd planned to make it a quick one this morning. I was the first customer inside the front door. There were no small-sized carts to be had. I was to learn at the check-out that they'd all been stolen from the front of the store. And, it was disclosed that the carts were not locked up, only appeared to be, so theft was an easy event. I can't fathom that at all. 

I was looking for a squash and found a big table full of them. They were all sorts and all colours and really quite lovely. Those in the foreground were enormous. I reasoned that I could not possibly cut through a big one and I would be challenged to move it into my car. So, I settled for a small spaghetti squash and called it good. 

My biggest surprise and delight was the appearance of the Cuban Lunch chocolate bars. These were recently revived in our country. I remembered them fondly. They came into being sometime after WW2 in Winnipeg, Manitoba. I certainly enjoyed them growing up. They disappeared off the shelves around 1991. Someone in Camrose, Alberta decided to bring them back to an adoring public. I have to say they are not quite the recipe I remember but I'll happily make do. 

The bakery across the parking lot from my grocery store opens for business at 6 AM, a full hour before the grocery store opens. There was only one lonely customer there as I was about to head home. As our weather is beginning to break down, I'm not sure how useful all the outdoor seating will be soon. I did attempt to buy a coffee there one early morning in mid summer. I stood at the counter alone for several minutes and only got a casual glance from someone stuffing loaves into bags. I gave up and went on to get my groceries vowing I'd not return. I haven't. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.