A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Oliver

“Please, Ma’am, I want some more.” More sunflower seeds. I’m imagining that’s what this chipmunk is thinking, and if you follow my train of thought, you’ll have guessed why I’ve named my cute little striped friend, Oliver • Which brings me to one of my favorite writers, Charles Dickens. I admit I haven’t read all of his books, and it’s been many years since I’ve read one, but there’s something endearing and universal about his themes and characters that stand the test of time. Great Expectations, A Tale of Two Cities, A Christmas Carol and Oliver Twist, these are the ones that have touched my life, and like many households, watching Scrooge at Christmas time is tradition. We love the Alastair Sim version from 1951 • It’s a beautiful summer-like day so we’ve decided on a late picnic lunch at the river, the Kennebec River, to enjoy the view. Perhaps we’ll spot an eagle, or a duck, possibly a cormorant. Maybe Stanley the Sturgeon will make an appearance?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.