A Soaker of a Day!

And something unusual to blip today. This is Iresine herbstii - Bloodleaf. I bought it early in the summer since the class I taught this summer (Plant ID Summer Annuals and Perennials) was going to be studying it. It's been growing along in my garden and looking pretty interesting in the deluge late this afternoon. It's an annual here in Portland, hardy to USDA Zone 10. Grows to about 3' or taller if its happy and has terrific foliage. I believe this cultivar is called 'Blazin' Lime'. It's a member of the Amaranth Family...hence the deep vivid colors. 

I came home from spending the afternoon with my parents (yes, mom beat me at Backgammon again!) and by the time I got home it was nearly 5:00 pm and pouring rain. Too little light for the camera, so I took my iPhone outside instead. But this makes for an interesting photo, don't you think?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.