Wound up in Wexford

By Neatwithice

Cot quilt

My mum made this quilt for R when she was new born - so back in 1985!  I used it (though I think quite lightly, as I had other bedding I used more) for R and then later for Z.  It then sat in a box for 20+ years, before R took it to use for her boys.  

When we were over in Sweden recently, R asked me to see what I could do to renovate it, as after being washed a number of times (baby vomit!!!) the wadding (seen to the left here) had all bunched up in the centre.

Today, I deconstructed it.  The quilting itself is fine, it was the extra wadding added to give the quilt more substance that was the problem.  I have ordered some new wadding, and I think maybe I need to get new backing material - the original is a bit "tired".

There's also a cushion cover.  R had already opened one seam to get the cushion out, and she is keen that I should make it easier to do this in the future, perhaps by adding a zip, though I think buttons might be an less taxing option!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.