Missycat

By Missycat

Day 186 Light and Shadow

I really didn't have a lot of time for today's AT as this evening we had guests for dinner.  This meant that in addition to preparing the meal I had to dash round dusting and Dysoning as I clearly hadn't done this for some time.  I also wanted to make sure that the downstairs loo was as  'safe' as I could make it, although this area does get a regular thorough clean.  It was lovely to spend time with our friends, L and her husband G.  We do not see them as often as we would like and certainly haven't since before the lockdown.  Unfortunately for L, she had to spend some time in Mr MC's chair to have some treatment done that had to be cancelled in March, but her numbness wore off in good time for her to enjoy her dinner.  L lost what little sight she had when she was around 12, but has never let her disability stand in the way of achieving.  She and G have raised five children, now all adults and she has enjoyed a career firstly as a physiotherapist and now teaches the flute and continues to do so, even though, like us, past the usual age for retirement.  Her company always lifts my spirits and frankly reminds me that I have little to complain about in my own life.

Back to my effort for Abstract Thursday: I tried two ideas, one with a wooden artist's manikin and this with three forks and as you see the forks won.  I used my little Ikea spotlight to create the light and shadows.  The colour was achieved just by moving the saturation slider in Picasa to its maximum.  
Many thanks to our regular host Ingeborg and many congratulations to her and all her family on the birth of her grandson.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.