pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Slippery slope

 moved to Kendal in 2005 and for the longest time was completely oblivious to the fact that it had a dry ski slope.

When she was a little younger, The Eldest went to a couple of birthday parties here where they did some “tubing”. For the uninitiated, tubing is flying down a big hill in a big rubber ring, which is just about as much fun as it sounds and I really wish it had been one of those parties where the parents have to join in!

It was slightly marred by the fact that one of the instructors had suggested that two girls sit back to back and link arms whilst going down the slope (I can’t remember why, but do remember thinking “how can they protect themselves?”). Sure enough the rubber ring tilted and unable to put her hands out to stop herself, one of the poor girls got her face scraped on the unforgiving ski slope deck – ouch!

A few years later, I would end up renting a nice house just around the corner from the ski slope and be able to hear the whoops and hollers from the backyard as people careered down the slope.

Having spent too much time in front of screen this week, I made a dash outside at the end of the working day with the big camera and an intention to try some different shots at Kendal Castle. The weather turned quickly and I was acutely aware that I had no cover for the camera, so stuffed it under my jacket and went for a walk along the lower path which rings the castle, which brought me to the top of the ski slope. 

To this day I still find it slightly odd that this is here. In Kendal.

Then again, the museum OF KENDAL has a polar bear in it… 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.