Today in the Diary

I will remember today for two things. The first is the weather. It RAINED, and I don't use those capitals lightly. I had a hosepipe draining the water butts but they filled faster than they emptied for large parts of the day. I find it difficult to photograph rain but here is my attempt. You can see the rain coming down, the pine twigs weighed down with water drops and even the rivulets pouring from The Red House roof into the gutter.
Large puddles formed because the ground couldn't absorb the amount of water coming down. It was spectacular, and rather unusual for this part of the world.
When I wasn't helping Jan I was working under the new veranda roof, de-nailing yet more of the pile of wood from the old veranda. Sometimes I ventured out to clear a gutter, or set up a siphon to empty the water butts a bit away from the house. Otherwise the cellar gets rather damp and puddles form in the earth cellar. I slowly grew wetter and wetter as the day went on and when I eventually gave up and headed inside I took off my shoes and then stood in the bath to strip away all those very drippy clothes! The next move was lighting the wood burner - glorious dry warmth!!!
The other memorable event today was the reorganisation of Betty's, Jan's work area. The new window meant things needed to move around. Jan did most of the work and called me in when a bit of extra muscle was required, or when it was time for a hot drink. HarlingDarling has written about that side of today so I'll just link to her blip here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.