There is such a thing as free leaf mould . . .

 . . if you don't charge for your time!

I use a possibly over the top three-year system for producing leaf mould. Year One, all the leaves from the garden and up and down the road (when nobody's looking!) plus decaying fern fronds go in the timber box at the far end of the garage - no, not inside the garage! Year Two, they get turned out and barrowed round to the Weldmesh cylinder on the hardstanding, which is what I've done today, and Year Three, they get transferred to a smaller Weldmesh cylinder for the final rotting down. I spread last year's small cylinder contents on the Drive Bed a couple of days ago. The result is a lovely planting/mulching medium as good as you could buy, if you could buy it!

This afternoon I donned my 'Keep Oban Beautiful' hi-vis vest and trundled round my usual circuit, picking up a couple of bags of other people's crap. It would have been a lot quicker had I not spent 45 minutes talking to friends bumped into en route!

Limerick of the Day:

An unemployed sailor from Alnwick
Was so skint that he started to palnwick.
So desperate was he
To get back to the sea
That he signed on as cook on Titalnwick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.