Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Bad day and RBS not much help

Phone call this morning from someone reportedly from RBS fraud squad re suspicious activity on my account. He knew all my accounts details including sort codes and account numbers and knew balances and recent transactions. Was told accounts would be frozen but In a bid to catch the scammers RBS headquarters were adding the equivalent amounts to my accounts and I was to transfer money to the fraudster and namesort code anand acount number were given for me to transfer the moneygive. I could not get this person reportedly frm RBS of phone and only did so by saying I had a hospital appointment. I was asked to go to the local branch and make the transfer and said I would not be able to do this till tomorrow. I was suspicious and decided to phone the fraud number on the back of my bank card. no joy after waiting fir almost an hour I still could not get through, so I wentinto the RBS branch in stirring and reported the call. They confirmed that my accounts were Ok with no suspicious activity but advised me that I had to phone the number on my bank card and report it when jireturned home. This I did and after a wait of 30 minutes I got throughout but they were not very helpful. They said that as the scammers knew my account details my account was at risk and they were cancelling my card and online banking.I said this was not convenient as I hadd bills to pay and the new card would not be with me for 3-4 daysi asked that it be sent out by Royal Mail special delivery so it would get to me within a day but was told this would not be possible. I was told not to answer the call that I was expecting to get from the person who instructed me to transfer money. I was made suspicious of him as he insisted I keep everything confidential and was not to tell family, friend or other agencies. I was also told by him not to tell the branch as it was thought some branch staff were involved in the scam/ fraud

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.