Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Backblip

Glaciated Slab was today's climbing venue and our legs were a little tired from yesterday's walk on the walk in, but heyho! Psst, mine were actually more tired than Fi's, but she's seventeen years younger and she's a runner.

Fi had a guidebook but it was twenty years old and so wasn't as helpful as it might have been. I lead a route, Fi lead a route and then it was my turn again... I set off and almost immediately changed my mind, moved sideways to another route and it was no better, came down... by which time we were frozen, it was a real wind tunnel up there and we just didn't have enough clothes on. Two days later we realised that Fi's guidebook was totally out of date and the routes I'd tried were both Severes.

So the cold forced us down and we drove to Keswick for tea and cake, and also for shopping. Fi bought both rock and approach shoes and a shiny new rope, I made do with minor purchases including a rather lovely hat to match my "lockdown" jacket. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.