Kes and Maggie

Quarantine Day 6

Another mega busy day at work, and today I didn't finish until 6.45pm, at least our quarantine is flying by!  We had our lunch sat in the Palace, and retreated there for a non-alcoholic beer once I'd finished work.

This pair have kept me amused throughout the day.  I could hear a robin singing in the garden this morning, so I got my camera and went and stood on the terrace to see if I could see it.  Alan wandered into the kitchen and saw me, tapped on the window and jokingly told me to get back to work.  I said 'I'm looking for the robin', and he said 'well why don't you capture the Kestrel behind you?'  He pointed to it sat on a post in the field, and just as I took a shot, the magpie flew towards it and landed on the same post.  The look on the kestrel's face was a picture but then it flew off and my image was blurred.

A little later on I looked up from my desk the dining table, and saw the kestrel was back, and this time was sat on our neighbours' roof.  It was eating something but I can't make out what it is - it's green!  (see my extra).  Then Maggie the Magpie turned up again - the Kestrel didn't seem too bothered by it, and during the course of the afternoon they kept coming back and sitting on the roof.

It's not a particularly sharp image, but it was taken on full zoom and then cropped, but they brightened up my day, it was amazing to keep seeing them together.  We think it's probably a young Kestrel as it seemed quite fluffy.

One piece of exciting news is that I heard from the Brighton & Hove Calendar today to let me know that one of my images will be in this years' official calendar :-)

6 down, 8 to go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.