Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Autumn funghi

I woke up to very exciting news this morning - my niece in South Africa went into labour early this morning (3 weeks early) and on admittance to hospital had to have an emergency Caesarean Section as baby was in distress as the cord was wrapped around his neck. Having a baby in times of Coronavirus is not great, as dad was not allowed admittance and so missed the birth - he had a Covid test on arrival but it takes about 18 hours for a result. However after the birth he was given a hazmat suit and was allowed to see his wife, and had a peak at baby who is in ICU on oxygen. My niece cannot be with her baby until she has her Covid test results. The plan was for them both to have Covid tests nearer her due date but things did not work out like that. But thankfully both mum and baby are doing well. I would like to go meet my great nephew but of course travel plans cannot happen at the moment.

Other than that it has been a dull day. Gavin has gone away for two days and one night for a work strategy session, and it does feel strange for him to be away as I have got used to him not travelling for work.

On my walk with Xena this morning I noticed so much funghi in the woods, as can be seen here.

I still have not had the results of the Covid test I did on Sunday - I guess as it was for research purposes they don't feel obliged to get results to me anytime soon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.