Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Autumn colours

This morning I went with Xena to meet a home boarder who is able to take Xena for the few days when I go to Portugal in November. She is a registered home boarder and only takes a few dogs at a time. She seems very nice and her setup is well organised so I have booked Xena in with her and hopefully it will all be okay! She is also one of the few boarders who is prepared to look after a puppy. 

I booked on to a photo workshop in Portugal at the end of last year, when I did not know my circumstances would be different. The workshop is in Porto but Gavin and I are going to Lisbon for a few days together first which is when she will look after Xena - Gavin will look after her when I go on to Porto and am on the workshop.

Oak trees are usually one of the last to get their autumn colours but this rogue oak tree seems to be one of the first trees to change colour. We had a lovely walk in the woods where Xena met a 8 month old cockerpoo and they played together for at least 20 minutes, wearing each other out. On our way back to the carpark she met another 10 month old cockerpoo (they are very popular around here) and they had another crazy playing session so she is now tired and sleeping.

As I was leaving the woods I met a woman with a black labrador who said, 'these weiner...weiner-whatever dogs are so common now, aren't they?' Well actually she is  Hungarian Vizsla and I don't think there is a more common dog than a black labrador! 

I am about to go up to London to meet Gavin as we are going to see Master Harold and the Boys, it's a famous, award winning play by the South African playwright Athol Fugard. I have seen it before many years ago, but this new production at the National Theatre should be very good. Thomas is on puppy duty tonight! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.