Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Blue skies

A cloudy morning gave way to blue skies, but we had some rain this afternoon. I took Xena up to the heath again, and I have photographed this view before but I liked the blue skies here - we are expecting a couple of days of rain from tomorrow, so I wanted to enjoy the blue skies today. The heath is still looking quite green with only some birch trees starting to turn.

I received the results of my Covid test today, the one I did as part of the research group, and as expected it was negative. Apparently the growth in cases in slowing....who knows what to believe anymore. We are all holding our breath waiting for the vaccine to arrive and yet when a suitable one is found it will be a long time before we can all get inoculated.  In terms of the Covax agreement each country will only get sufficient vaccine to initially inoculate 3% of their population - which in the UK would be enough to cover health and social care workers. As more vaccine is produced, allocation is increased to cover 20% of the population - this time prioritising over 65's and other vulnerable groups. Personally I think it should go to workers after the NHS staff, as they are the ones mixing with other people on a daily basis.

My niece and her baby are doing well. He is out of ICU and back in her room with her and doing well, and they expect to go home tomorrow. The virus has certainly impacted on lives in ways that was never expected - weddings cancelled, funerals that could not be attended, and mothers giving birth without loving families or friends around for support and to share the joy.

Gavin and I are going out tonight to meet friends for supper. We last met just before lockdown happened, before we knew what lay ahead of us! Now we are meeting again and who knows what the next 6 months will bring. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.