carliewired

By carliewired

Orange Shirt Day

Every child matters
So we wear an orange shirt
to remember that

~ carliewired

It's been a busy day and it's only just lunch! 

I was up early to get groceries. As I was leaving the house, I wheeled the garbage and recycle bins out to the street and placed them carefully so I wouldn't back over them. This has been a problem in my neighbourhood because my annoying neighbour likes to re-arrange the bins after I put mine out. Several times I've found them relocated so they are in my way  and not where I'd left them. I was lucky today. He didn't have time to mess with my bins!

I wore my orange shirt today. Orange Shirt Day is in memory of a little girl who arrived at a residential school and had her orange shirt taken away from her. Our First Nations peoples suffered huge damage when their children were taken from them and put into schools away from their families and homes. It is a dark chapter in Canadian history. 

I stopped at the work site at our family business. We have a water leak to repair and it's a deep one requiring some specialized equipment that we don't have. Our caretaker has been brilliant about sorting out what's needed and how to get it done efficiently. It has meant shutting off the water to an area of the park. Tenants have been patient and understanding with the exception of one. We have been very fortunate to have good weather with us for this repair. With luck it will be wrapped up by tomorrow. 

My delight today is seeing my daughter's miniature paintings. She completed these with gauche on watercolor paper. Each is 2 inches square. I put my house key beside them to give a sense of proportion. I know I could not possibly paint so small without going cross-eyed. Somehow she manages it well. Normally, she does nail art. Her nails are quite the artistic expressions. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.