Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Me in a Mirror in Mask

Mum and I had planned a day out to Cambridge today. We wanted to go to The Orchard at Grantchester which we love. We always go in October/November so miss the sight of all the apples. We always miss the blossom in Spring too. We’re cursed!
Today was no different!
Mum was on her way and I thought I’d just check that it’s open. It’s always open, outside and there are no local restrictions so why would it have been closed?
It was closed. 
Until Saturday for “circumstances beyond their control”
Disappointing but I was so glad I checked. Although baffled as to why I had!
We’ll rearrange for another day.
Instead we went to the less picturesque Ikea, TKMaxx and Asda!
The less said about Ikea the better. It’s never been more stressful. And I’ve been on a Saturday afternoon with toddlers and a pushchair!!!!
The car park’s all cordoned off and weird and people were getting road rage! I decided to give up and head over to Asda. Of course then someone pulled out of a space right in front of me so we went in.
There’s a traffic light system to get in so there’s a big queue, fair enough to stagger people a bit. Once we were in we fancied a cup of tea so headed straight to the cafe. You have to book a table in advance the boy said. Nothing until 1.30pm. It was noon. I didn’t think we’d be there that long but we booked a table anyway, just in case.
I have never seen so many people with masks round their necks or under their noses. I felt like screaming at them that they may as well take the bloody things off! I hate them as much as anybody but at least I can wear them properly (although looking at this photo I think it may be inside out!!! Hahahaha!!!)
Unsurprisingly we we were still there at 1.20pm so went back to the restaurant.
Where the fun and games really began.
You have a numbered table (ours was a window seat, whoop whoop) and there’s a menu on it. The boy had said only one person was to go and get the food. So we chose what we wanted - meatballs and chips for me because it had already been a hard morning!! And the gravalax plate for my mum.
I went to order.
And entered an ET-esque nightmare of plastic tunnels, metal barricades, people in haz-mat suits.
As I walked through all the flapping polythene to the food counters people started shouting at me and pointing. I stopped and waited where I was assuming there were too many people at the food counter.
After a while I stepped forward, they all started shouting and frantically pointing again.
Oh my God.
They were shouting at me but I couldn’t understand what they were saying and was getting a bit annoyed.
I bit the bullet and set off walking towards them anyway.
That did it!
Three masked women came charging towards me shouting “Order at the till!! Order at the till”
There was no one at the bloody till.
Eventually a woman appeared and was very nice and explained it all to me -  you order and pay for your food at the till and then they bring it to you.
First of all I was cross and said it didn’t say that anywhere and Oh. My. God!!!!!!!
She was lovely and completely sympathised.
So I ordered - including water she told me when I tried to head back into the Twylight Zone for a glass! - and went back to the table.
Not long after our food arrived at the table.
But where’s my tea?!!!! I wailed.
That came along a minute later with the water.
And rather than the measly ladleful of gravy you normally get, I got a huge bowlful.
Loving the new arrangements!!!!!!
Ha ha ha! It is actually brilliant, just not well communicated. If only the boy at the front desk had asked have we been there recently and explained it.
I normally go to Ikea straight from school so I get there at 9.30, have a lovely peaceful free cup of tea before they open the store and then have a lovely quiet browse and get what I need. So it’s normally a pleasure. I said to mum if we ever go again we need to do that!!
Asda for a new kettle and toaster and gin glasses for my mum - covering all eventualities - and a browse of the food aisles. It’s a massive giant Asda so they have a mind boggling array.
Then it was the usual mad dash to get Miss L from school. She was disappointed she hadn’t needed to go to After School Club and get picked up by Daddy in Marshall. But she took it well!
Home for a bit of Mary Berry action on iPlayer. I’m making Thai salmon tomorrow and wanted to show my mum the recipe.
And the frangipani apple cake, and the crab blinis, and the lemon tart and the salmon and fennel.........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.