Peek a boo

I can’t say it’s my first iris this year, the winter iris ( iris unguicularis ) flower all winter followed by the small white Bearded iris and yellow and white Dutch iris. This was a surprise though as I don’t think it flowered much if at all last year. 

After my late night I was thrilled to think I had an extra hour sleep as daylight savings started. Wrong! I lost an hour and didn’t get up until late. It was a lovely hot day so I spent a few hours pulling weeds and chopping back winter growth. I notice severe frost damage on my crepe myrtle tree. Once they mature they don’t seem to get affected but this one is only a metre from the ground. No wonder I nearly froze last night at the wedding ( See back blip ).

Received great news from granddaughter Olivia who came second in the Champion Girl Physie comp today at Homebush. She came second to last year’s National Champion so we were pretty chuffed. Her friends came third and fourth so all that practice made a difference. So proud. They aren’t having a National comp this year due to Covid. It has disrupted a lot of annual activities that’s for sure.

So with daylight savings having commenced it is only just starting to get dark by 7pm ( it’s only a couple of months since mid winter). I have a roast dinner almost ready but thought I’d put up a quick blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.