Meadfoot

It's been another rainy day with the forecast showing little indication of respite. I decided on a trip out mid afternoon and went to Meadfoot beach in Torquay. The tide was low but covering much of the beach so I walked along the road until I was happy with the angle of the rocks in the foreground lining up with Thatcher Rock off shore. Talking of Thatcher (not something I relish at the best of times) but one of the things I noticed on my way there was a big hole where the Palace Hotel used to be. 

The Thatcher connection is that in 1986, I'd just started working as a CPN (Community Psychiatric Nurse) in Torquay and the Conservative Party Conference was on and Babbacombe Road was a no-go area. To be honest the whole of Torquay was pretty jammed up and it was only on the TV news in the evening that I could actually see what was going on.

I've also gigged at the Palace Hotel on a few occasions and although I can't remember who they were for, I don't think it would have been for the Tories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.