Large unidentified flying object

Well, I assume it's an eagle of some sort, as it was a long long way away, and yet it appeared really quite large. And it was lazily flapping its wings as it moved incredibly quickly across the landscape.

This was me - on my own - making my way down from Beinn Duill back to the cottage. Mr A came part of the way, and then bailed. Well, it was our second walk of the day. We went round the shoreline first thing, when the weather was a bit worse.

So it's been a tricky first day in paradise. ;-) I mean, waking up to views like the first extra.... Or dealing with gate wars (see the comments in Mr A's blip) by catching said gate in the evening sunshine (see second extra). Whilst I was up on the hill I heard a stag roaring, and then later as we were having a cup of tea, some goldfinches came calling to chomp on something desirable near to the cottage. And for the first time ever, I saw the Treshnish Isles from above (see third extra).

Generating a lot of photographs here, so editing those will keep me busy when we get home. I kept myself busy today reading most of Raynor Winn's second book, The Wild Silence. We both loved The Salt Path, and I was prepared to be disappointed with this book, but I'm not. I won't add any spoilers as Mr A may also want to read the book. But it's a great accompaniment to being here.

The day was topped off by duck legs, roast potatoes, carrots and broccoli. Mr A isn't always the most imaginative cook in strange kitchens, but he raised his game here, so I tip my hat to him. I might have to have a go tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.