SUNDAY LUNCH AT THE WOODMANS ARMS

Neil and Rachael invited me to go with them to The Woodmans Arms for Sunday lunch this afternoon.  The Woodmans is a large pub/restaurant on the outskirts of the village. Due to local lockdown restrictions you are only allowed to eat out with members of your own household but Neil and Rachael count as my household as they are my " support bubble ".  The car park was very busy but as the place is large it didn't feel overcrowded.  Everything was very efficient - and the food was delicious.  I chose slow roasted brisket which came with roast potatoes , lots of fresh vegetables, a huge yorkshire pudding and lots of gravy.  Neil and Rachael had lamb.  Of course I had to have a pudding - and my choice was sticky toffee pudding with ice cream.  I was so eager to eat it I forgot to take a photo.  It was yummy.  I had a good time - its the first time I've been for Sunday lunch with Neil and Rachael  - and the first time any of us had been to the Woodmans.  Actually I did go once in about 1979 but back then it was just an old fashioned pub - one big room in an old stone building with no food available.  Its certainly grown over the years and if today is anything to go by its definitely thriving. 

Musical link Take My Breath Away by BERLIN  ( Neil is wearing his Berlin marathon T Shirt )

After Neil and Rachael  dropped me off back home I watched a bit of TV and then had a nap.  More TV this evening.

Neil was also going to take it easy too as this morning he ran the virtual London Marathon. The London Marathon was supposed to take place in April but of course it was cancelled.  Neil deferred his place to next year.  Then the organisers decided to hold the event today with elite runners only... they did 19 laps of St James Park this morning.  Anyone else who wanted to take part could enter and run their own race today virtually anywhere in the world. Neil didn't officially enter but he still did a marathon today.  His time was 3 hrs 23.  Not his best time but its tough pounding the streets for 26 miles alone with no crowds to spur you on.  But its a good time all the same so Well Done Neil.

Steps today - 4,405

CORONA CLASSIC - Libertango composed by Astor Piazzolla -- The 12 Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.