DICTIONARY

The Mono Monday challenges for October have been set by laurie54.  The themes are  Inventions from.:~

the 18th Century  -    04 October MM402.
the 19th Century  -   11 October MM403
the 20th Century  -   18 October MM404
any time in history - 25 October MM405

Not sure if my choice could be classed as an invention but the first definitive English dictionary  " A Dictionary of the English Language"  was published on 15 April 1755 and written by Samuel Johnson. He took seven years to complete the work.  In earlier times books had been regarded with something approaching veneration but by the mid-eighteenth century this was no longer the case. The rise of literacy among the general public combined with the technical advances in the mechanics of printing and bookbinding meant that for the first time books, texts, maps, pamphlets and newspapers were widely available to the general public at a reasonable cost. Such an explosion of the printed word demanded a set pattern of grammar, definition, and spelling for those words. This is why Johnson's dictionary is among the most influential dictionaries in the history of the English language.  I chose to blip a children's dictionary which was used by Becky and Neil when they were little. It was printed in 1990 for Weetabix.  It is full of lovely colour illustrations.

Had a phone call around 8.15am this morning from the Health Centre.  My doctor needs to talk to me about my high blood pressure.  He had a cancellation so he will be free to phone me tomorrow after 6pm.  Not a very convenient time as I will be at my slimming group.  The receptionist said if I didn't take that phone appointment the next one would be in November.  Obviously I can't wait till then so I had to take the one for tomorrow.  Seems like the situation is not improving re getting a doctors appointment. 

Good news re my leg operation though.  A letter came this morning with a date for vascular surgery.  Its on 1st December. 

Before going to the village I packed up a few baby things to send to Becky and the post office was my first stop when I went out.  Then food shopping in Herons and Tesco.  It has rained heavily for most of the day but I managed to hit a dry spell while I was out.

Steps today - 7,694

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.