According to Nogbad this is by Antony Gormley

I posted a shot of a piece of public art at the Kent Library a couple of weeks ago about which I couldn't find any information as we were in a rush, parked where we shouldn't be. We were there this morning with a little more time and were able to find out more about the installation.

It's called History Tree by sculptors Michael Condron and Anne Schwegmann-Fielding and represents the history of Kent as the roots of the History Tree which have made Kent what it is today. As people commented at the time, it's a very fine piece of public art.

Nogbad asked if I was aware that the rocks around the front of the building were by one Antony Gormley when he was a student at Maidstone College of Art. I was not so it made a good blip to show his work which is a double exposure really, the rock on the right is a real rock, the one on the left a sculptured rock from metal of some sort. In an effort to avoid a large incongruous sign and other intrusions I got down really low, not noticing that I was in the reflection or the corner of a yellow warning cone, darn it. I have blipped the rock many years ago, but I'm not able to find it!

We were down here as Susan's car was in for is annual service and MOT. Less than 2000 miles in the year! All passed and good for another 12 months. From the garage we enjoyed a fine walk along the Medway, up to Waitrose for their coffee beans, into town for a coffee and teacake and home through Mote Park clocking over 8 miles in the process

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.