Hard at work

It was a beautiful sunny start to the day, not to be wasted indoors, despite the fact I wanted to get on with my sewing! There will be many days approaching that I will be happy to spend inside I'm sure!
I couldn't resist watching the pollinators on the blooms that looked super in the sunshine. I spent about 20 minutes just watching them and snapping a few for my blip. It was a calm and relaxing way to start the day. 
Barry was moving some large items in the garden which have been parked up since we moved in, almost 16 months ago now, so now when we sit on the bench against the house wall our view is not at all obscured by and large coal bunker and a huge black water container transported from Weymouth, which will hopefully soon be connected to a down pipe to perform its purpose! 
The coal bunker was full of flat packed cardboard from the many deliveries we have had since moving in, so I have now used them to cover more of the grass and weeds in the hope that it will give me more growing space next year without so much strenuous work! Time will tell!
After a much welcome coffee, sat in the sunshine a few more clouds arrived so I decided to experiment and make a cake that I could eat without feeling guilty about raising my sugar levels!
I used organic wholemeal flour, our own eggs, proper butter, plant based sweetener and some organic yoghurt. The result was surprisingly good, see extra, although I didn't get the rise I would normally using actual sugar. It was an experiment as I couldn't find an actual recipe to follow so I'll just make a few adjustments next time and who knows what I'll end up with!
The sun reappeared so I went back into the garden to pull the rest of any beetroots that were actually large enough to eat, they've been a disaster this year. I cooked them and we ate them with frittata for dinner. They were quite delicious but tiny and so fiddly to prepare!
The wool arrived from my friend who has asked me to knit a matinée jacket for her friend's expected granddaughter. I managed to make a start on that this evening. 
Unfortunately after a day of being almost entirely on my feet, my plantar fasciitis was giving me so much pain. I have decided that tomorrow I will spend sitting down, sewing in the morning and then with my feet up and knitting in the afternoon. It will feel quite decadent to be so immobile but I think it has to be done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.