Through the round window

I was thinking about blipping the sunset (see extra), but I see that Treshnish has got there first from a slightly different angle and with more trees as foreground. I also wondered about blipping the standing stones at Glengorm (see second extra), but that's a phone photo, as by that stage I couldn't be bothered to get my camera out again (I had put it away as we got caught in a sharp shower walking back to the car). So I went with one of my takes on the Glengorm boat (on Loch Mingary) which we learned about from Picturemull. Thanks for the pointer and the directions! Mr A put the boat in its context (with added haiku).

Another pretty lovely day here, although there were more showers than just the one that got us when we were walking at Glengorm. But on the whole the weather was better than yesterday, but not as good as Monday. The walk was excellent, and I made incredibly good progress on my paper during my morning writing session. I also cooked for the second time this week. This is getting into a dangerous habit....not to be repeated when we get home.

On the way back, we called at the Dervaig local shop and were in awe of the huge range of goods on sale. The variety of dried herbs and spices is incredible. As it happened, we didn't need any of that sort of thing - just some meat and some fish for Thursday and Friday, and a couple of other bits and pieces, including bags of fresh herbs to make a herby mashed potato one evening.

EDIT: closer inspection of the sunset photo reveals an unidentified beastie, which is probably a sheep or could possibly be a deer, silhouetted against the sea. I had meant to say in my original post that when I went out to photograph that iteration of the sunset I could hear the stags roaring all around in the rut, and i could also see plentiful deer up on the hill behind the cottage. They seemed to be grazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.