Plus ça change...

By SooB

Not crocuses

Dreadful night’s sleep (it appears the banquet may have been too large and too quickly consumed). I know it’s a bad night if for my first go of putting Radio 4 on to get me back to sleep it is actually still Radio 4 and not the World Service yet!

Early start to see CarbBoy off the premises and the gardener onto them and, eventually, the delivery of 3 tonnes of gravel. The gardener ferried about a third of it onto the paths, and CarbBoy and I did the rest. The last half tonne was the hardest: “just three more barrow-fulls”, I kept saying to myself... on about ten return trips to get more! I have notoriously bad 3D spatial skills and my family get me to choose Tupperware for leftovers just for the amusement value, I think. Anyway, eventually it was just three more (I’m always right in the end) and then, despite the hens getting trapped behind a bramble in a neighbour’s garden and panicking, it was time to collapse into a bath. Must buy some bubble bath - the almond blossom shampoo smelt nice in the water but has left me rather itchy.

A reprise of the banquet and a very long call with my mam finished off the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.