Photogen

By Photogen

Station Stall

Today's photo was taken in Queen Street Station, Glasgow. Stations are always interesting places - full of people in transition - coming, going or just waiting. The station buffet used to be pretty humdrum but the station has been transformed by competing outlets, and one of the most eye-catching is the little stall of AMT Coffee. The company was created by three brothers from the USA - Alistair, Angus and Allan for the sole purpose of providing a really great cup of real coffee for passengers on the go. In 1994, the first rail site was secured in Oxford which was a great success with commuters, and now there are more than 50 station stalls UK wide. This translates into nearly quarter of a million cups of Fairtrade coffee weekly. They were one of the first organisations to champion Fairtrade and now they offer a range of their products including teas, juices and snacks.

As I overslept this morning and set off without breakfast, I bought a tub of porridge with honey and nutmeg. I knew from experience that the porridge was delicious and I'd 15 minutes before my friend's train arrived. Also it cost only £1.20! I asked permission to take a picture and explained about Blipfoto. Ian, the chap in charge, thought it was a great idea. So I think I've also recruited a new Blipper as well as capturing the young counter assistant who made my porridge at the colourful AMT stall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.