6.37a.m. Lights in the darkness.

This morning when I woke, it was still dark. Until we put our clocks back one hour towards the end of the month, they will become darker bit by bit each day.
I could hear the rain outside when the first cars arrived at the school to open up. Their tyres swished along the wet surface of our road.
It is not cold, and although we had a weather warning out from 9.00pm yesterday evening till 9.00am today, for continuous rain which could cause traffic disruption and local flooding, as we sit on a bit of a ridge here, we escape the worst when it does happen.
I say “ridge” because I am a Northerner who grew up surrounded by hills and the Pennines.
It used to make me smile when people talked of the hills just around here. Even the nearest ones called the Clent hills cannot match the height of the ones I roamed when young up in the area of the Rossendale Valley.
The nearest ones are up in Derbyshire.
So I’m sitting in my dressing gown drinking a mug of tea I’ve just made and having a biscuit. Hubby is still in the Land of Nod. (But I was in bed earlier last night, probably due to the unaccustomed exercise class yesterday!).
Darker evenings and mornings make us feel like hibernating! There must be a vestige of the instinct left in us somewhere.
However, we are promised sunshine this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.