Bridge Reach, River Medway, Rochester

Thank you for your kind comments on yesterday's sunset at Seasalter Beach. We continue the maritime theme today in a totally different environment of the derelict banks of the estuary of the River Medway at Rochester.

I was at the Medway City Industrial estate taking the car for a new windscreen after it was cracked on the way down from Scotland last week. Instead of sitting in the waiting room for an hour I wandered off the busy noisy estate onto the Saxon Shore Way and down onto the banks of the Medway.

It was a fine morning which improved the ambience of the area somewhat, there's much derelict land from former industrial activities which will be developed in time. I found evidence of a Medway Thames Canal linking the two rivers without having to navigate several bendy miles along the Medway to the Thames.

Of all the views, this appealed to me the most. Shot in mono as really that's all the colour there was. I'm fascinated by muddy foreshores and creeks and the way they reflect light. This shot typifies the Medway hereabouts down to the shopping trolley in the water. And yet, a family of swans find this home.

There are a couple of extras which I also like - a Russian submarine moored on the reach with Rochester Cathedral and Rochester Castle in the background. You used to be able to go aboard this when it was moored down in Folkestone many years ago - and a shot of a derelict pier jutting out into the river. Thank you for hosting the challenge Marlieske.

On another tack altogether, I know that several people I follow use Blurb to create blipbooks. I'm wanting to do the same so would be very interested in knowing the approaches people use: what size pages, are comments as well as the journal entry. Thank you in anticipation.

PS, just had a marvellous sunset as I write, so that's another extra. Need to use them all up by the end of the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.