Hundreds - maybe thousands of pigeons!

The alternative image >>>

They were quite a long way away so it's not a brilliant image but I wanted to post this today because I've never seen anything like it. I spotted them circling over fields near Badsworth and I quickly pulled into the car-park of Rogerthorpe Manor so that I could try and get an image. As I stood their waiting for them to fly again many more birds were coming over my shoulder to join the main flock. I had left my binoculars at home so unfortunately didn't get a close-up look at them.

I was on my way to visit Mum when I spotted them. After sorting out a few jobs we decided to have some lunch at the garden centre in Ackworth - personally I wouldn't choose to go there again but you have to try these things. On my way home I called in for more bird food at the RSPB reserve at Old Moor and spotted around a dozen Magpies gathered in the hedgerow along the road into the site - apparently they gather at this time of year - a kind of pre-breeding sort out!

I've been back home sorting out my Dad's old camera equipment - is anyone interested in old (but not ancient) camera stuff. Some of the lenses I will keep as I have an OM adapter for my Panasonic camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.