Beach + Dog + Camera = Inspiration

I came to the realisation on the beach this evening that I have kind of cruised through this term. I've been keeping the bits of me that are too painful to explore hidden from the world and some of them from me.

I've turned up at work. Done my job. Gone home. Done what I need to there. Gone to bed.

That has been my life for the past few months.

Tonight on the beach, I reminded myself gently that I am the only person who can take my life out of cruise control, let myself feel the pain I need to feel and get on with things.

I have parent teacher interviews tomorrow night and it was a scary realisation that though I have results in my mark book and I have been standing in front of these students for nearly 9 weeks, I can't recall all the things we've experienced together and some of my students have faces but no personality in my mind.

That's not the sort of teacher I am. I care. That's why I do this demanding but incredibly rewarding job.

As from tomorrow, cruise control comes off and I start driving again. Whatever floodgates or wounds that may open.

Not just in my professional life either.

So, I would apologise for going down the 'high contrast Cousteau on the beach' shot route again but do you know what? I like it so I'm not going to.

I hope you will excuse me, but I have a life to go and live!

So, I'll see you tomorrow. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.