BANG go my free eggs.

The lass next door gave me the bad tidings yesterday

Since we moved in, in 1987, I've lost count of how many Neighbours we've had, both sides; for two reasons.
1. We're on Wrinkly Road; the majority of us are pensioners.
2. For a while after Mrs. "To the left" passed away, her son moved in.  he was eventually claimed by Mr. Alzheimer and the family let it.  Can't remember how many times if >1; but that one replaced our Barge Boards, Fascias & Soffits at "mate-rates".  He then beat a hasty retreat before A.N. Other came to repossess his car.  Then we got Pam and Bill, now down to only Pam in her mid to late 80s
3. Mr. "To the right" eventually passed away and his daughter let it - up till now.  
For a while we had a young couple and sprog.  They eventually got married and he was moved to married 1/4s at Catterick camp.  (Spill chucker didn't believe me)  I looked up Catterick Camp population - 13,000.  There then followed, that I can remember; a young - middle aged couple filling the gap between houses. The lady half had the somewhat unusual name of Vernon (IF she ever explained it I can't remember and can't ask Alice). Then we got another Bill and a Val in lieu of Pam.  Poor old Bill had a slow, rough end and Val stayed on until daughter of original owner decided to sell & it's out of Val's range.


OH! The free eggs?  
She had an allotment C/W hens, which laid faster than she could eat them alone so I got her extras.  She was also useful for me to throw my excess veg. plants at.  Online amounts/quantities/numbers are invariably greater than I'd buy locally; so Val gets the X S.  I mean what am I going to do with a hundred Senshyu onions on my own? 
Three way split me/Mike/Val.

I may have mentioned the estate agent WAY back in the hists of mystery.  A bloke came in for a watch battery and asked if he could leave it and call back.
"Certainly sir, what's your name?"
"Wilkes-Green."
"Oh; as in Wilkes minus Green plus Hill" which is how their sign was written:-
Wilkes-Green
+Hill
"Yes" says he ruefully, "we've had a LOT of that, we didn't think about it enough." 
SO - they eventually changed it to his name in one colour and Green's in another.
Is it me, or wouldn't
Wilkes-Green
and Hill
have done the trick?
OR even
Wilkes - Green
      & Hill  
Can't whack the old Ampersand.  
By which same token; I've just heard of the existence of a book containing & in about 400 different fonts.
;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.