Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Vigo

Yesterday the Lammergeier (known by some as Vigo) had moved even closer to our house, so I couldn't resist making a second visit this morning, in slightly better weather conditions. News of her presence has clearly spread far and wide, and by the time I arrived there were a lot of cars parked, accompanied by a rather intimidating line of birdwatchers (almost exclusively male) with telescopes and large telephoto lenses. I nearly gave up at this point, but eventually found a parking place away from the crowd and found a spot where I was probably as close to the bird as anybody.

As on my previous visit, she spent most of the time sitting on a ploughed arable field, digesting her breakfast of a dead rat. While waiting for her to move, I spotted a friend who came over to have a chat - we were so engrossed in conversation that I missed her take-off but managed one shot showing her features rather better than Thursday's effort. Another spine tingling morning, and really good to see Justin too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.