Colour

Marginally better day - certainly started better as I woke to clear skies and the promise of sunshine. I got up and set out quickly. I'd realised that I could see the turning colours of trees by going to the Botanic Gardens, so walked down there. I was planning on a comparison coffee and doughnut at the Bearded Baker (which said it opened at 9am on Sundays) but I got there and found it closed - grr - and ended up going to the Blue Bear in Cannonmills instead. First in, and had a tasty plate of french toast, blueberries and creme fraiche with coffee. Felt quick chirpy as I headed up to the Botanics but wasn't so pleased to find it's still by appointment only and was fully booked. Oh great....so my great plan was messed up...sigh.
I walked round the boundary and down to Stockbridge, and at least did catch lots of great trees full of vibrant colour en route that cheered me up. 
Bought some delicious runny Gorgonzola from a cheese stall at the food market but couldn't go into the optician's I'd wanted to as I didn't want to wait for it to be open, so headed back. Ended up getting a bus up the hill for the last bit of the journey but nevertheless had done a good amount of steps (listening to Scabby Queen my current novel all the way - enjoying it). Really quite warm in the sun on the way home - lovely.
I managed to paint all the rest of the windowsills and did a second coat on the ones I'd done yesterday, and also had a good clean throughout the flat, put another coat of teak oil on my kitchen wooden shelf and did some ironing. Decided not to bother baking today, but instead made some soup for the week's lunches (sweet potato, coconut and chilli).
Delighted to receive a pot of Winsford's apple and rosehip jelly dropped off by her daughter so am going to enjoy it this evening with some roasted lamb steak and veg, and I'm also making a cherry and almond crumble that I saw a Nigella recipe for in the paper yesterday. 
Didn't do much prep for the week ahead, but I'll think about that in the morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.