A day in the life

By Shelling

Space

My island, made up of limestone formed some 540 miljon years ago,  peeked out of the water after the last ice-age about 12.500 years ago and is tilting slightly towards the east. The coastline is not dramatic, it dips into the water ever so gently. The beach is very wide here, next to the stony waterfront  are sea-meadows, often flooded and full of food for birds. Today  a huge flock of cranes was debating when the right time to move south is but apparently it wasn't today. There were hundreds of them gathered on one of the meadows. Every now and then something made them lift off to fly around for a while and then land again. The flock you see in my second blip is about a third of them.

On my way home to the west coast of the island I passed the big plane, "Alvaret". I found it was looking particularly endless today with the nice clouds posing at the horizon and I couldn't resist a third blip, looking nice full screen.

I've had a much more productive day today, I can tell those of you who commented yesterdays blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.