Caught

Returning home after the evening dog walk, passed two police vans in the village who seemed to be finishing off a speed trap exercise. As I passed them, one of the vans followed me the 1km to our property entrance & as I turned on the indicator, on came the blue flashing lights!

I, following my father's 1973 advice, was out of the car before the van stopped and they had a chance to get out. Three young, female driver and two men emerged. Very pleasant and we had a discussion about my MOT sticker on the rear number plate that showed it had run out in November 2019.

I didn't pretend I didn't know & admitted I was having problems getting it ready for an MOT. Luckily one of the Corona measures introduced at lockdown was an unofficial official lengthening of the time you could overrun. In old money after over 7 months, the fine would have been pretty substantial & I suspect include a point but they took pity on me and I had to pay €25. Naturally, they checked all my details to make sure I wasn't an illegal immigrant! Think they had pity on me as a Brit.

All very pleasant & I have a week to keep driving the Jeep before I present a new valid MOT to a police station. No chance of doing that so will have to find an alternative by next Wednesday!

An extra photo of them leaving. They didn't seem to trust Luna & I to direct them backwards on to the main road!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.