JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

Autumn in the woods

Usually I'd have spent today looking after little Frieda. But as she has to "self-isolate" until tomorrow week, I had some unexpected free time. (Her parents, not so much... we have been exchanging texts about how to keep a sociable 15 month old happy when she isn't allowed to leave the house/garden or to have visitors).
The sun was shining first thing, though the afternoon forecast was for rain. So I got myself organised and went to the woods at Longshaw, just outside Sheffield. These woods are lovely in the autumn, and I had in mind to practise some fungus photos.
I found a surprising (to me) variety of fungus on the wet stumps and tree trunks. As ever, the more I looked - and slowed down - the more I saw. Now I just need to go and look up what they are :-) 
In case anyone reading this is concerned, I'm not about to eat any of them.
After a poor night's sleep (no doubt influenced by Covid concerns), it was good to get out for a couple of hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.