Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Mixed weather

I woke up at 6am planning to take some photos of the sunrise, but the sky did not look promising at all. Lying in bed with one eye half open I suddenly saw atmospheric mist rising from the lake and so quickly got dressed and ran out our room down to the water's edge where I got some photos of the misty scenery. This photo was taken later as most of the mist had risen and there was a touch of pink in the sky over Ullswater.

After breakfast we headed north, first stop to see the Castlerigg stone circle as I had never seen it before despite this being my fourth visit to the lakes. By now there was quite a wind, the sky was ominous with dark clouds and it was raining. Then on to Derwentwater, to walk the east shore. First extra is of the boats outside Keswick, and by now there was a blue sky. We had a great walk with Xena, she was off lead so could run around and was quite brave in the water going in up to the tops of her legs - progress! See second extra of the Lady of the Lake!

After our good walk we went into Keswick to find some lunch - a coffee from Costa and a take away sandwich as most of the cafes were too busy and full. We then headed south to Grasmere, which is an extremely pretty village full of stone buildings and famous for it's gingerbread. We parked at the White Moss car park and then walked up to Loughrigg Terrace which gave us wonderful views over Grasmere, see third extra. By now squalls had blown in again and it was raining and very windy. After our descent from there we walked along the shore of the lake to the weir before returning and going back to our car.

It was a full on day, we were out all day and only got back to the hotel after 5pm. I have so many photos from today I did not know what to blip.

Apologies for not spending time on journals but it has been busy. We walked about 19000 steps today and I was carrying my heavy camera bag on my back for all of that so I am feeling rather weary tonight. Xena has had a brilliant day and is loving her holiday and meeting many friendly dogs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.