Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

View over Crummock Water

This morning dawned bright and sunny, and it was a most beautiful calm day with blue skies and plenty of sunshine. I watched the sun come up but did not go out to photograph it as I got an email last night requesting me to submit photos for next week's camera club competition - I had thought it was a week later - and so I was choosing and preparing images to submit. 

After breakfast we drove the short distance from our hotel to photograph the famous boat house on Ullswater, see first extra. We wanted to do some fell walks above Ullswater but with Pooley Bridge closed it means driving all the other way around the lake, so we decided instead to go to Buttermere - I have been there a few times before but have never walked right around the lake, which is what we did today. It was busy when we arrived with everyone scrambling to get a parking place. We had an excellent coffee and GF cake from the cafe there before we set off. The route around the lake is 4.7 miles and it was very pleasant in the sunshine. I had added some extras of the views on the walk. I was feeling tired afterwards as my camera bag adds so much extra weight.

After the walk we decided to get some lunch but now there were queues outside the door at the cafe, so we skipped lunch and had a nut bar instead. We drove home via Crummock Water where I took this photo. Just before we got to our hotel we stopped off at Leeming House for tea (and scones for Gavin). We had showers of rain while we were having tea.

As we have not done any fell walks yet we have decided to drive around Ullswater tomorrow to do some higher level walks, despite having a long detour due to Pooley Bridge being closed. Tomorrow is our last full day here - too short a visit as there are hundreds of walks we would like to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.